As you come to him, the living Stone – rejected by humans but chosen by God and precious to him – you also, like living stones, are being built into a spiritual house to be a holy priesthood, offering spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ.
[1 Peter 2: 4-5]
St Cuthbert’s is the Anglican Parish Church of Over Kellet in North-West Lancashire.
We are a warm, friendly & welcoming congregation of all ages who are committed to knowing God and making him known.
You’ll find this week’s newsletter below in the 'Key Documents' section
Our mission values are to:
Be a witness to Jesus Christ in Over Kellet and the local community.
Worship God in a way which brings comfort, joy and a challenge to all present.
Work with God to show care and concern, not only for the members of the church but for the whole community.
The village of Over Kellet lies on the B6254 just one kilometre from junction 35 of the M6 motorway. As well as the Parish Church of St Cuthbert's it boasts a village store and Post Office, a refurbished Village Hall, a pub (The Eagles Head), Wilson’s Endowed Church of England School, and a War Memorial. It has been a prior winner of the 'Best Kept Village of Lancashire' Competition.
There are extensive views from most parts of the Village. The foreground is rural but embraces the narrow communications corridor taken up by the A6 trunk road, the M6 Motorway plus the West Coast Main Rail Line and the Lancaster Canal which also passes close to the village. The backdrop to this corridor includes Morecambe Bay to the west with the Lakeland Fells forming a backdrop all the way round to Shap. The limestone crags of Farleton Knott and Warton Crag take up the middle ground.
In the 2011 census 70% of the 800 parishioners aligned themselves as being Christian.
Further information about the Parish is available at www.overkellet.org
The church building is situated on the south side of the village on the Nether Kellet Road. It is likely that there has been a church in the village since Saxon times as the granite stone font probably dates from about AD900.
The church which stands there today has been partly rebuilt and modified several times. In about 1251 there was a stone church on the site, and the stonework of the western arch in the south aisle is from that period.
In the mid 1300s a tower was added at the west end and may have been made taller in the mid 1500s. The tower has three bells, one which is likely to be Medieval, one from 1644 and and one from 1824.
The East Window was installed in 1868 in memory of John Booker (An Over Kellet resident whose company went on to sponsor a well known literary prize). Since then there have been various updates to the building including a restored roof, a toilet, a kitchen and a new vestry room.
Much more has been written about the fascinating history of our ancient church building and can be found by clicking 'More...' on the menu bar
Aside from the wonderful history of the building, the heart of the matter is our desire that it will continue to be home to a community of living witness to the saving power of our Lord Jesus Christ, and that it will continue to be a place where God is worshipped ‘in spirit and in truth’.